Cormack Painters & Decorators M&D MacLeod MacGregor Industrial Supplies N&D Macleod Property
Cuillin FM on Twitter! Join our Facebook Page!

Studio Time:

Baker Prize Winners

Baker Prize Winners

Wednesday 14th December 2011

The inaugural Baker Prize Winners for 2012 have been announced. Richard Neath from the Skye Literary Salon reveals the results...


The winners are as follows:

English poetry:

Winner - Archipelago, by Andy Jackson (Dundee).

Highly commended - Ferryloupers by Andy Jackson. Sconser in the Storm by Les Wood. Speaking in Tongues by Norman Bissett (I've checked and, according to his letter, it's Bissett, not Bissell.

English Prose:

Winner - Payline, by Heather Magruder (SCA U.S.A.)

Highly commended - Seagull by Ian Stephen, Crow by Carl Pickard and Greenwave by Jane Verburg.

Gaelic poetry:

Winner - Mi nam Eilean by Niall Gordon (Sleat)

Gaelic prose:

It was the opinion of the judge that, although pleased to have received entries in this category, she didn't feel any were really notable enough to be declared an overall winner.


We are, as a committee, delighted with the response to the competition. Over 130 entries from as far afield as USA. The winner of the English prose category was in fact from America and, having had email correspondence with her this morning, I'm delighted to say that she's seriously considering attending the January event where we can acknowledge the individual winners.